top of page
Writer's pictureTheMarriedMillennialBlog

What I am Thankful For This Year

With the upcoming holiday, I took some time to reflect on what I am thankful for.


When I think of Thanksgiving I think of going to my Aunts house and eating yams covered in marshmallows (my favorite dish) wearing sweaters, watching football and playing the stair game (a game made up by my dad to entertain us that if you answer the trivia question right you move down a stair but if you answer wrong you move up a stair and the first one down is the winner). I think most of us quickly jump to food and family when the holiday from its founding is about gratitude and being thankful.


To be honest, I didn't give it much thought until last week when one of my youth leaders was telling me about a homework assignment where they had to write down reasons they are thankful and it seemed easy for them. They were thankful for the opportunity to go to a great school, to participate in sports teams, thankful for a mentor and thankful for family. It prompted me to think; What was I thankful for? The first thing that came to mind was GPS and I had to do better than that. Here is my list of 24 things I am thankful for.


24 Things I am Thankful For This Year



1. I am thankful for wine, specifically Cabernet or Pinot Grigio, especially after a long day.

2.I am thankful for a dishwasher and that my husband loads and unloads it (I really hate washing dishes).

3. I am thankful for my amazing neighbors.

4. I am thankful for scarfs the best last minute accessory (I wear one almost everyday).

5. I am thankful for Google. I am not sure how I would quite have managed college and all of other life questions.

6. I am thankful for family (including all the honorary moms & dads who have been there whenever I have needed you, my parents, my brother and sister, extended family and work family).

7. I am thankful for fuzzy socks.

8. I am thankful for unexpected long weekends when your company closes .

9. I am thankful for candles that make my house cozy.

10. I am thankful for a house filled with people I love and good food.

11. I am thankful for winning free burritos for a year from Moes.

12. I am thankful for Kennedy & Noah (my dogs). I am also thankful for the love my husband has for the dogs.

13. I am thankful for GPS, I rely on you more now than ever to get everywhere for work. (I knew it would make the list somewhere)

14. I am thankful for the opportunity to get to know my husbands family. I am thankful for them accepting and treating me as one of their own.

15. I am thankful for leftovers.

16. I am thankful for free samples at Costco.

17. I am thankful for cuddling with my husband and dogs.

18. I am thankful for fire pits in the backyard and nights that go on until wee hours of the morning.

19. I am thankful for sunflowers for the beauty they have.

20. I am thankful for a clean house.

21. I am thankful for learning from mistakes.

22. I am thankful for my education, even though it comes with student loans.

23. I am thankful for my job.

24. I am thankful for the support of my loving husband even when I do things that annoy him.


What are some of the things you are thankful for?

41 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page