top of page
Writer's pictureTheMarriedMillennialBlog

Letter To My Dogs: Thank You

Who rescued who?


Dear Kennedy and Noah,


If destiny was not real our paths wouldn't have been crossed. Kennedy, you had a bunch of homes before you landed with us and Noah, you were evacuated from a shelter in Texas from a hurricane. Each of you came into my life at a time where I needed you and I didn't know it. Kennedy, you helped me grow from an anxious eighteen year old into a twenty-something with courage. Noah, you taught me to stay true to who I am even when times get hard even though you are a complete "daddy's boy". I just want to say thank you;


Thank you for greeting me ecstatically every time I come through the door regardless of if I've been away on a work trip, went to the gym, or just grabbed something from the car. Thank you for bringing me your favorite toy when I walk in;



So excited to greet Mom but we aren't allowed to leave the landing.

Thank you for your comfort and support. You have been there from the best days to the worst days. You have seen me graduate (twice), gone through loss of a loved one, losing my job and then getting a new one to name a few and I thank you unconditionally;


Kennedy helping Mom ace her French final.

Thank you for keeping all my secrets. I know they are pretty juicy and you have to sit on your paws to not tell Dad, Grandma, Grandpa or Oakley (your best friend and neighbor dog). I appreciate you not telling Dad what he was getting for Christmas or how I really feel about some of the situations I often find myself in. Thanks for being a good confidant;


Kennedy waiting on gifts from Puppy-Claws

Thank you for the silly things you do. It will never get old watching you both play. Noah, I love how you always react to sounds with your ear tilts and raises or when you don't realize that you are a 55-pound dog and dead weight your dad. Kennedy, you are one quirky dog, I love how you tuck yourself in bed under the blanket with your head on the pillow. Or anywhere you fit, you sit. Or when you roll in the dirty and get stuck on your back. Thank you for the good and often much needed laughs;


"If I fit, I will sit"

Thank you for loving each other. Kennedy you were an only puppy for the first 4 years of your life and I know you weren't happy when we brought Noah home. You were content with all of the pets, snuggles and table food Grandpa used to smuggle to you. It took you a long time but I know you love having a friend to keep you company while Mom and Dad are at work, running errands or whatever else we do. Noah is so dependent on you. Thank you for being a good big brother;


Kennedy & Noah snuggle on Dad's lap.

Thank you for the kisses. I will be the first to admit I hate when you kiss my face, my toes, legs, fingers or any other extremity but I know you are just trying to say "Mom, I love you." Thank you for loving me;



Everything in life is changing but you both are my constant. Thank you for being my best friends, confidant, and mamma's boys (when dad isn't around). So, who rescued who?


Sincerely,

Your Mother, Owner and Friend

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page