top of page
Writer's pictureTheMarriedMillennialBlog

First Time Shopping at Aldi

Trying out the self proclaimed "no-frills" grocery store that offers low prices and just the essentials.


Based on a Gallup poll Americans report spending $151 on food per week on average. What about millennial's? They report spending $173 a week average. How much do you spend on groceries each week?


If you are anything like me, you prefer money in your pockets rather than theirs, but groceries seem to be one place I can never trim the edges regardless of how many coupons I used or cheap eats recipes I've used. On average for our little family of two (humans and two dogs) costs $140 each week. So this week I ventured into Aldi, where the motto is "Shop Differentli".


For those not familiar with Aldi, is a no frills store that has a variety of items at discount prices with a focus on staple items. Aldi also produces its own store brand (90% of the store is Aldi exclusive brands), low prices on brands we are familiar with and fresh produce. The store is also on the shelf in the very boxes they were shipped in and uses other tactics to lower our weekly grocery bill.


At first I was a little hesitant since I am an regular ShopRite shopper and I really dislike frozen food, I wasn't sure what I was walking into. The store was a lot smaller than any grocery store I had been to before. I got my cart (after inserting a quarter) and began to walk around eagerly looking to see what all the buzz was about. First I checked out produce and I was in awe, my husbands favorite vegetable, asparagus was $1.89; a container of grape tomatoes was $1.45 and a giant pack of zucchini was $1.24. From this moment on I was SOLD. I continued down the isles more and more impressed by the prices, a six pack of onion bagels $1.49 and cream cheese for $0.65! I also checked out the meats and ended up with Fresh Atlantic Salmon (3 huge pieces) for $7.10 which certainly is a better deal than what I usually pay for it. The canned goods prices were astonishing, I was instantly impressed with jarred sauce for $0.85 and assorted beans for less than $0.40 a can.


After browsing the whole store, I headed to the check out with all the necessities and a few extras with one question in my head, how much did all this cost? Was this really a good deal? The beeps started rolling and watching it carefully ring up, I was able to get an entire weeks groceries for $72. Which is far below half of the weekly average in the United States! However, I didn't bring any reusable bags and purchasing the paper bags would have been $0.35 a piece so I packed up the car with loose groceries and headed home to tell my husband my accomplishment, I cut our grocery bill in HALF.


I certainly enjoyed the Aldi experience and I was willing to trade in lesser selection for the bargains. I would call myself now and avid Aldi shopper.


Have you tried Aldi what do you think?


19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page